mbl186-1How to Kill a Horse is the second album from Lafayette, Louisiana’s BROTHER DEGE. The album was originally issued on CD and digital formats in 2014. On July 10, 2015, Magic Bullet Records is proud to bring this critically-acclaimed album on vinyl format for the very first time to listeners worldwide.

On the follow-up to 2010’s critically-acclaimed Folk Songs for the American Longhair, BROTHER DEGE (aka Dege Legg) employs the tried and true “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” philosophy in spades. How to Kill a Horse is also 10 songs on the nose and marks yet another exemplary exhibition of passionate, absolutely haunting Mekong-Delta-blues-by-way-of-Louisiana hymns and melodies. Four-time Grammy-winning producer Tony Daigle was brought on yet again to properly capture the simple, raw brilliance of Dege’s fingers, voice, and stomp foot with only minimal accompaniment by a small handful of guests on various tracks. The result is yet another brilliant collection of song and atmosphere unlike anything else out there.

Track: “How to Kill a Horse”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Track List:

01. The Black Sea
02. The Darker Side of Me
03. How to Kill a Horse
04. Judgment Day
05. O’Dark30
06. Poor Momma Child
07. Wehyah
08. Crazy Motherfucker
09. The River
10. Last Man Out of Babylon

LP issued July 10, 2015

LP pressing info:
- First Press: Clear, Black

LP UPC: 8-56645-00349-0