mbl225“An interpretation of depression falling into madness…”

THE THEORY OF ABSTRACT LIGHT was a solo project and album by Benjamin Carr of then 5IVE and now INTRCPTR. In 2001, Carr released the 9-song album via his own Odd Halo Recordings imprint. It was packaged in a custom, letterpressed and foil-stamped cardstock case with insert. Interestingly, Carr made the packaging alongside his father in the latter’s print shop. The duo also created many packaging elements for 5IVE, Hydra Head Records, and Deathwish Inc. during this era. The Theory of Abstract Light recording was later reissued in the fall of 2002 by the now defunct Tortuga Recordings label. Both versions are long sold out and long out of print with 2017 marking the first time that this recording has been offered digitally in quite some time.

On this album, all sonic captures and mechanics were tracked by Carr at Odd Halo in Gloucester, MA in the winter of 2000. Mastering was performed by Nick Zampiello at New Alliance East.

Track list:

01.) Outside the World’s Fair (1912)
02.) Is the Dream…
03.) Self is Taught (Daemon)
04.) Self Loathing (Realizing)
05.) The Menagerie (Broken) (Minus One)
06.) His Mother’s Lock (A Broken Memoir)
07.) The Hemophiliac Dream
08.) The Hemophiliac Dream (Draem)
09.) The Hemophiliac Dream (A Message Into)

Digital issued: 09/08/17

UPC: 1-91773-62845-1